NBA Awards 2018: Details in Brief

NBA Awards 2018: Details in Brief

The 2017-18 season has been an eventful one, and Monday’s awards show finally put a cap on the year

NBA Awards 2018: Details in Brief

Six of the awards given out were voted on by the media: MVP, Coach of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Sixth Man Award and Most Improved Player. Other awards include Executive of the Year (voted on by the league’s executives), Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year (voted on by the players), NBA Sportsmanship Award (voted on by the players) and the NBA Cares Community Assist Award (voted on by fans and a panel of judges).

The fan-voted award for Play of the Year was also handed out, with the finalists coming from the winners of the fan-voted categories for Dunk of the Year, Clutch Shot of the Year, Assist of the Year, Block of the Year and Handle of the Year.

Most Valuable Player

James Harden, Houston Rockets
Other finalists: Anthony Davis, New Orleans Pelicans; LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers

Most Valuable Player – Past Five Winners

2018 James Harden Houston Rockets
2017 Russell Westbrook Oklahoma City Thunder
2016 Stephen Curry Golden State Warriors
2015 Stephen Curry Golden State Warriors
2014 Kevin Durant Oklahoma City Thunder

The league’s premier award went to James Harden, the top scorer in the NBA for the league’s top regular-season team.

Coach of the Year

Dwane Casey, Toronto Raptors

Other finalists: Quin Snyder, Utah Jazz; Brad Stevens, Boston Celtics

Unfortunately for Dwane Casey, his great regular season in Toronto wasn’t enough to save his job, though he landed on his feet in Detroit. Casey led the Raptors to the top seed in the East, won a team-record 59 games and coached the All-Star team

Sixth Man Award

Lou Williams, LA Clippers
Other finalists: Eric Gordon, Houston Rockets; Fred VanVleet, Toronto Raptors

Lou Williams, who averaged a career-high 22.6 points per game while leading the LA Clippers off the bench, takes home his second Sixth Man of the Year award. Williams also won in 2014-15 as a member of the Raptors.

Defensive Player of the Year

Rudy Gobert, Utah Jazz
Other finalists: Anthony Davis, New Orleans Pelicans; Joel Embiid, Philadelphia 76ers

Rudy Gobert missed 26 games due to injury, but he was a major key to the NBA’s second-best defense and was arguably Utah’s most important player (the Jazz won 66.1 percent of games Gobert played in and only 42.3 percent of games Gobert missed).

Most Improved Player

Victor Oladipo, Indiana Pacers
Other finalists: Clint Capela, Houston Rockets; Spencer Dinwiddie, Brooklyn Nets

Victor Oladipo represented the improvement of changing teams and roles. In Oladipo’s case, he went from being a decent starter in Oklahoma City to an All-Star while improving his numbers across the board.

Rookie of the Year

Ben Simmons, Philadelphia 76ers
Other finalists: Donovan Mitchell, Utah Jazz; Jayson Tatum, Boston Celtics

Simmons, the No. 1 overall pick in 2016, averaged 15.8 points, 8.2 assists and 8.1 rebounds per game for a 52-win 76ers team this season. This is the third time in the past four seasons that Rookie of the Year has gone to a former No. 1 overall pick, as Simmons joins 2014 top pick Andrew Wiggins and 2015’s Karl-Anthony Towns as members of the ROY club. Simmons is the first player to win the award after missing the entire season following being drafted since Blake Griffin, the top overall pick in 2009, won Rookie of the Year honors in 2010-11.

Tags : James HardenNBANBA AwardNBA Award 2018NBA AwardsNBA Awards 2018NBA MVPnba mvp 2018

The author Yogesh

Leave a Response