Goa Zilla Panchayat poll results: BJP ahead of Congress, wins 27 seats; NCP bags 1 seat

As the Goa Zilla Panchayat election results are set to be declared by Monday evening, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has so far won 27 seats, racing ahead of the Congress, which is at second place with four seats.

The counting of votes for the Goa Zilla panchayat polls began on Monday.

As the counting is still on, results for 40 out of 48 seats have been announced. The BJP has won 27 seats, the Congress one, the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) has bagged 2 seats and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) has one seat in its court as on 5:15 pm on Monday. The independent candidates have won 6 seats so far.

BJP spokesperson Sambit Patra on Sunday said, “In Goa, we won 27 seats out of 48 and are likely to win 31, whereas the Congress is likely to win only 3 seats. And, the AAP [Aam Aadmi Party] has got zero seats.”

Boasting about the BJP’s win in the Assam Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) polls and the Rajasthan Panchayat Samiti elections, Sambit Patra, who was addresing media in New Delhi on Monday, said, “In the BTC elections, BJP tally increased from 1 to 9 now and its allies are doing well there. Recently, we won Rajasthan rural polls also.”

The Zilla Panchayat elections were held in 48 constituencies in Goa on Saturday, recording 56.82 per cent voter turn-out. The Goa State Election Commission (SEC) said there was 58.43 per cent voting in North Goa district and 55 per cent in South Goa district, news agency PTI reported.

This was the first election in Goa since the coronavirus pandemic began.

Polling was cancelled in Navelim due to the death of a candidate, while in Sancoale, the BJP candidate won unopposed. The BJP, Congress and AAP have officially fielded their panels for the elections being fought on party symbols.

“Polling in all 48 ZP constituencies have been held successfully in well-organised and peaceful manner in all 1,187 polling booths,” PTI quoted the SEC spokesperson as saying.

Tags : AheadbagsBJPCongressGoalatestnewslatestusanewsNCPPanchayatpollResultsSeatseatsusausa2020usanewswinsZilla

The author Kunal

Leave a Response